The Governing Body at Nonsuch Primary School consists of members of the local and school community. It works closely with Mrs Young and the Senior Leadership Team to oversee the strategic direction of the school. It does this by offering support, constructive advice, a sounding board for ideas, and help where needed. It challenges, asks questions and seeks information to ensure that the best interests of the children at Nonsuch Primary are maintained.

All of the governors listed below act on a voluntary basis. Some are appointed by the Local Authority (LA), some elected by parents, some by teachers/staff and some are co-opted by the governors from the local community.

The Department for Education has stated that governors hold an important public office and their identity should be known to their school and wider communities. In the interests of transparency, governing bodies should publish on their website information about their members, committee structure and remit of committees. All information needs to be published in a readily accessible form. Readily accessible means that the information should be on a webpage without the need to download or open a separate document. This can be found below.

 This school uses the Model of Governance of a Full Governing Body (FGB) meeting each month for ten months of the year. When necessary, working groups can be established - for example, budget planning - and these working groups report back to the FGB for final agreement.

Governing Body 2020/2021

Governor Type (Appointed By) Name Expiry Declaration of Interests
Headteacher Mrs Heather Young Nil
Staff Governor  Miss Rachel Evans August 2021 Nil
Co-opted (FGB vote) Mr Jonathan Nicholas October 2023 Nil
Co-opted (FGB vote) Mr Steve Williams September 2023 Nil
Co-opted (FGB vote) Ms Claire Cruise February 2021 Nil
Co-opted (FGB vote) Mr David Wilson August 2024 Nil
Foundation (FGB vote) Mr Tim Bowen August 2024 Nil
Parent (Parent vote) Mrs Alice Smith October 2021 Nil
Parent (Parent vote) Mrs Lana De Araujo October 2021 Nil
Attendance February 2021 December 2020 October 2020 August 2020
Mrs Heather Young Y Y Y Y
Miss Rachel Evans Y Y Y Y
Mr Jonathan Nicholas Y Y Y Y
Mr Steve Williams Y Y Y Y
Ms Claire Cruise Y Y Y Y
Mr David Wilson Y Y Y Y
Mr Tim Bowen Y Y Y Y
Mrs Alice Smith Y Y Y Y
Mrs Lana De Araujo Y Y Y Y



Minutes from FGB Meetings

Autumn 1 2020

Autumn 2 2020

Spring 1 2021